:: About Okrug - A Few Facts About its History:: The Official Website of the Tourist Board of the Municipality of Okrug :: As Part of The Tourist Board of the Split - Dalmatia County


The remains of forts and walls, as well as the artefacts dating back to the Antiquity, indicate that the Island of Čiovo, on the western side of which there is the present-day Municipality of Okrug, was already inhabited in the prehistoric times.
During the period of the Roman Empire it served as a shelter for the exiles, and in the 5th century it also became an eremitic retreat. If we exclude the religious hermits who used to live next to picturesque churches that may still be seen today, during the second half of the early Middle Ages the Island was not inhabited. The situation changed in 1451 when, due to ever more frequent Ottoman sieges, the Republic of Venice, under the dominion of which the Town of Trogir had been since the year 1420, allowed the population of the Dalmatian interor to settle onto the nearby islands.